Family

A New Year’s Resolution

Happy new year! Welcome to 2014, you’re next opportunity to make a resolution and have it hold the test of time. Sometimes I make resolutions, sometimes I don’t. I never really place much emphasis on a resolution if I do make one. But, this year, I am making one that I hope with all my might will stand up to the rigors of time.

This year I resolve to learn more each day and help myself step out of the hole in which I am currently financially and emotionally stuck.

There, I said it. I don’t like reading the words anymore than I like how I dug my hole. But, one thing is for sure, I have to get out of it. And, in the words of one of my favorite holiday movie characters, Marv (Home Alone), “Wow. What a hole!”

Without going into all the gory details, my situation is such that I don’t have any work lined up for 2014 for my small business and I haven’t received any calls on my resume in hopes of landing a job. I am trying each day to find clients, send out resumes, and meet people who may offer some little sense of direction or opportunity. It’s tough, but I know if I keep trying I will eventually be able to crawl out of the hole and make great strides forward.

How I got into this predicament is my own doing, and something I am not proud of or willing to share on this blog. Suffice it to say that some decisions are good while others aren’t. Sometimes you have control of things, sometimes you get handed your butt. As long as mistakes turn into lessons learned you should be okay. I have identified times and decisions where I made missteps and I am trying to learn from them. I will be reading more, listening more, and experimenting more to work things out. Stepping out of my comfort zone is going to be integral to my success in this process.

And, it all starts today. I decided last night that I don’t have to change myself, but rather continue learning and adapting to situations. I’m alright and my head is on straight. However, I can learn new things and progress toward a more enlightened sense of who I am and where I want to be in life. And it is in that new sense of enlightenment that I will begin to step out of my hole and have the courage to live again…in a new day. In a new year.

Happy New Year to everyone! May 2014 find you learning and living your life as the person you want to be!

Categories: Family, Good News!

Leave a Reply

